skip navigation

SIMA Student-Athletes Recognized at Honors Night

By SIMA, 05/28/19, 1:30PM EDT


This past week, Montverde Academy hosted Honors Nights for the Lower, Middle, and Upper Schools to recognize students who work hard in the classroom and are dedicated to their studies as well as their tremendous efforts in the community. Several SIMA student-athletes were recognized for these efforts in the Middle and Upper School Honors Nights on Wednesday and Thursday.

On Wednesday night, SIMA Middle School student-athletes received Honor Roll recognition as well as Citizenship Awards, Student Government and subject studies recognition, and Distinguished Scholar Program participants. Middle School Honors Night also celebrated the eighth grade class on their graduation from middle school with well-wishes as they moved on to high school.

On Thursday night, SIMA Upper School student-athletes received 22 Citizenship Award recognitions (six are post-graduates) as well as individual recognition for their studies in a certain subject. SIMA also saw 2019 National Honor Society Inductees including one in tenth grade, one in eleventh grade and one in twelfth grade. SIMA also had five students holding Student Leadership roles as Prefects for the senior class and two incoming Prefects for the 2019/2020 school year. Senior Bernardo Gracindo won the Male Scholar Athlete of the Year award which was presented by the Montverde Academy Athletic Director Mrs. Khrystal Phiri.

Montverde Academy and the SIMA program are incredibly proud of all our student-athletes who received recognition and awards for their dedication in the classroom and community and the respect that they show both their peers and teachers. You can review all the awards and recipients below for both the Middle and Upper School Honors Nights.

Middle School Honors Night

Subject Recipient
English-Crafts of Language Arts 7 Deven Rangaswami
All A Honor Roll Gavin Penzone
All A Honor Roll Zackary Spangler
A/B Honor Roll Rayan Mounir
A/B Honor Roll Daniel Ribeiro
A/B Honor Roll Seth Arabitg
A/B Honor Roll Sergio Gomez
A/B Honor Roll Deven Rangaswami
A/B Honor Roll Rovu Utuama
Excellent Citizenship Nicklas Peter
Excellent Citizenship Gavin Penzone
Excellent Citizenship Zackary Spangler
Excellent Citizenship Pedro De Azevedo
Excellent Citizenship Sergio Gomez
Excellent Citizenship Deven Rangaswami
Excellent Citizenship Rovu Utuama
Perfect Attendance Rovu Utuama
Perfect Attendance Pedro De Azevedo
Perfect Attendance Rayan Mounir
Student Government - 8th Grade Rep. Nicolas Galvis
Distinguished Scholar Program Zackary Spangler
8th Grade Graduate Zion Coleman
8th Grade Graduate Andreas de Fabrique
8th Grade Graduate Nicolas Galvis
8th Grade Graduate Rayan Mounir
8th Grade Graduate Gavin Penzone
8th Grade Graduate Nicklas Peter
8th Grade Graduate Daniel Ribeiro
8th Grade Graduate Zackary Spangler

Bernardo Gracindo named Male Scholar Athlete

Mario Valdes named Outstanding Male Boarder

Upper School Honors Night

Subject Recipient
Progressive English - Science I Cassio Silva Miranda Santos
Progressive English - Science II Welnilton Rodrigues Da Silva
Progressive English - Communications I Welnilton Rodrigues Da Silva
Progressive English - Composition I Welnilton Rodrigues Da Silva
Progressive English - Literature I Guilherme Cavalcanti Rego
Progressive English - Composition II Guilherme Cavalcanti Rego
Progressive English - Communications II Welnilton Rodrigues Da Silva
Progressive English - History II Vinicius Belon
Progressive English - Creative Writing Joao Lucas Barreto
AP Calculus BC Gabriel Sitler
Pre-Algebra Guilherme Cavalcanti Rego
Finance Jacob Himelstein
Entrepreneurship I Jacob Himelstein
Biology- Honors Pavlos Tentomas
Forensic Science I Christopher Jensen
Improvisational Acting Gabriel Ariza, Jr.
Math Team Arthur Moreira
Distinguished Scholar Award Jean-Francois Armani Grimaud
Distinguished Scholar Award Akhil Patel
Male Scholar Athlete Award Bernardo Gracindo
Outstanding Male Boarder Mario Valdes Hernandes
Incoming Arts & Athletics Leadership Committee Richard LaPointe
Eagle Ambassador Lucas De Oliveira
Eagle Ambassador Camilo Moreno Vasquez
Honor Council Gabriel Sitler
Incoming Honor Council Pavlos Tentomas
Student Leadership Sebastien Ressler
Outgoing Prefect Juan Pablo Echeverry
Outgoing Prefect Mario Valdes Hernandes
Outgoing Prefect Kelvin Mulinya
Outgoing Prefect Gabriel Sitler
Outgoing Prefect Camilo Moreno Vasquez
Incoming Prefefct Jean-Francois Armani Grimaud
Incoming Prefect Lucca Lima
National Honor Society Inductee Akhil Patel
National Honor Society Inductee Jean-Francois Armani Grimaud
National Honor Society Inductee Bernardo Gracindo
Citizenship Award Jeremy Di Lallo
Citizenship Award Jayden Downey
Citizenship Award Juan Pablo Echeverry
Citizenship Award Jevon Forbes*
Citizenship Award Christopher Jensen
Citizenship Award Adam Kiernan
Citizenship Award Weston King
Citizenship Award Xavier Laneuville*
Citizenship Award Pedro Melo
Citizenship Award Youssef Mouelhi*
Citizenship Award Luiz Andrew Oliveira
Citizenship Award Ricaard Paiva Pereira
Citizenship Award Gustavo Pinotti Ikehara
Citizenship Award Jose Quintero*
Citizenship Award Giovanni Saavedra
Citizenship Award Jose Victor Santos Capalbo
Citizenship Award Cassio Silva Miranda Santos*
Citizenship Award Nathan Simeon*
Citizenship Award Gabriel Simoneau
Citizenship Award Gabriel Sitler
Citizenship Award Joao Pedro Souza
Citizenship Award Daniel Tregansin
* = Post Grad student