skip navigation

Two Alumni Named to MAC Hermann Trophy Watch List

By SIMA, 08/02/19, 11:15AM EDT


The United Soccer Coaches and the Missouri Athletic Club announced yesterday the 2019 MAC Hermann Trophy Watch Lists. This list is compiled by members of the United Soccer Coaches Men’s and Women’s NCAA Division I All-America Committees. Among the 36 names on the men’s watch list, two are Montverde Academy and SIMA alumni.

The MAC Hermann Trophy is the most prestigious individual award in college soccer and is presented annually to the most outstanding male and female players of the year.

Bruno Lapa ’16 is a senior midfielder for Wake Forest University from Curitiba, Brazil. In 2018, Lapa brought home many accolades and awards including; MAC Hermann Trophy Semifinalist, ACC Midfielder of the Year, United Soccer Coaches First Team All-America, College Soccer News First Team All-America, TopDrawerSoccer Best XI First Team, First Team All-ACC, and several more. Lapa scored 10 goals and tallied nine assists for the Demon Deacons last season.

Enrique Facusse ’17 is a junior goalkeeper for the University of Kentucky from Tegucigalpa, Honduras. In 2018, Facusse made a name of his own earning Second Team All-America, USC All-Southeast Region First Team, C-USA Freshman of the Year, C-USA Golden Glove Award, C-USA All-Freshman Team, and more. He also broke the UK season record with 19 wins and 14 shutouts totaling 116 saves in two seasons for the Wildcats.

With some of the most prestigious awards between the two Eagle alumni, both are solid contenders for the 2019 MAC Hermann Trophy. A total of 15 semifinalists will be named towards the end of the season and a winner chosen in January 2020.