skip navigation

2020-21 SIMA Awards Ceremony

By SIMA, 05/14/21, 2:15PM EDT


On Tuesday, May 11, SIMA hosted its fourth annual awards ceremony to recognize all student-athletes and all their efforts in the 2020-2021 school year. Coaches from each of the SIMA teams presented their awards to those participants that earned the Eagle, MVP and Coaches Awards. Hundreds of parents, student-athletes and coaches that support the program assisted and watched the live feed around the world at different time zones.

Head Coach and SIMA Director, Mike Potempa, stated the great spirit demonstrated by the student-athletes through the challenges of performing through the corona virus pandemic. The families great support was acknowledged as a key element to be able to keep training throughout the whole academic year.

It was also an emotional evening for the staff as Toni Hernandez, director of methodology at SIMA since 2018, announced his departure to a new professional challenge next season.

Coach Potempa wished the best in the future careers for the seniors and invited them back to campus anytime as they are now part of La Familia for the rest of their lives.

Thank you SIMA student-athletes for another great year of soccer and growth!


Student-Athlete of the Year
John Atem Kato

Coaches Potempa and Pultrone - SIMA Gold
Coach's Award - Luke Kawabe
MVP - Ali Fadal
Eagle Award - Luc Granitur

Coach Neira - SIMA Goalkeepers
Coach's Award - Zander Brasher
MVP - Aecio Da Fonte
Eagle Award - Nicholas Brown

Leo Jimenez  - SIMA Varsity
Coach's Award - Joao Lucas Domenici
MVP - Haya Yoshizawa
Eagle Award - Ricardo Rego

Carlos Pedraza - SIMA Morning Academy
Most Improved - Heitor Previatti
Coaches Award - Noah Alves
Eagle Award - Max Hartmann

Kevin Varnado - SIMA Afternoon Academy
Coach's Award - Nikos Diaz
MVP - Matthew Capuano
Eagle Award - Osmond Chan

Carlos Pedraza - SIMA Junior Varsity
Coach's Award - Gabriel Gomes
MVP - Nicholas Marangon
Eagle Award - Evan Gilmet

Leo Jimenez – SIMA Youth
Coach's Award - Oliver Anderson
MVP - Sebastian Orozco
Eagle Award - Jordan Cheetham